Governor orders flags at half-staff for Duffman

Here is today’s link
Comment from the hunterseeker:

By no way is this some sort of endorsement of the following individual however I must say credit where credit is due. I have been doing some checking on various links and I discovered this article on the following New Mexico site ( click to see article). I found it to be a rather moving article. I hope that Associated Press does not mind that I am using it here to direct the general public to this account. I found it moving because for the most part this honor is usually relegated to dignitaries, heads of states or other high ranking officials. In this instance this honor was being given to what many would regard as a regular Joe! In all the troubling news that I see in just one hour in a morning, though this is a sad event, it is a most moving proclamation towards the life of an individual. As much as I might rant and rave about other issues I must take this moment to congratulate
Gov. Richardson of New Mexico for what he has done. Again, this is not an endorsement merely a statement of appreciation for an act that other governing official should follow.

By Associated Press

15SANTA FE (AP) – Governor Richardson has ordered flags to fly at half-staff in honor of Air Force Tech. Sgt. Scott E. Duffman.
The 32-year-old husband and father died in southeastern Afghanistan this past Sunday when the helicopter he was in crashed.
Duffman grew up in a military family and lived in Albuquerque from 1984 to 1992, while his mother was stationed at Kirtland Air Force Base.
Duffman graduated from La Cueva High School and joined the Air Force after high school.
Duffman was assigned to the 24th Special Tactics Squadron based at Pope Air Force Base in North Carolina and had fought in Afghanistan and Iraq previously.
He’s survived by his mother Rose Duffman, stepfather Larry Austin, wife Mary Duffman and daughter Sophia.
(Copyright 2007 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Governor orders flags at half-staff for Duffman”

  1. Tray Says:

    Duffman Family,
    I’m touched by the photo that i saw on the internet as Mrs. Duffman is kissing her husbands gravestone. Its heart breaking to see this cause it shows how much she loved her husband. The sacrifice your husband layed on the call of freedom in unmeasurable. My name is SSG Pineda currently serving in Iraq on my second tour and i just wanted to send my condolences to Mrs. Duffman, family, friends, and his team that he belonged to. I can’t express the loss, any words that would comfort you, but i know God has him by his side watching over you and your little one.
    Take Care & God Bless the both of you, Sincerely, SSG PINEDA, Mosul, Iraq 17 Aug 2007 21:32hrs

Leave a comment